top of page
  • AutorenbildJana Wehrle

Giving and Receiving

Aktualisiert: 13. Nov. 2021

Janas main take aways from the guest lecture with Kumu Ramsay Taum, Hawaii



„The host is being the lead, not the visitor..”

This is one quote, that made me think of it again. Really often, we are producing arrangements, events and timetables for our visitors, in the way it fits perfectly in their holiday planning. But how Kumu Ramsay Taum explained, the visitor should accept the time when things are going. For example animals are only there to see, when they are normally there, not at the moment when tourist decide to go for a trip. This is authentic tourism. We, as the host, need to do the things authentically, so visitors can follow, and can experience the destinations REAL.


This learnt me a lot about my own travel habits. We should accept the country, the culture and the people who are living there. Even if we’re travelling respectful, responsible and relevant, we experience Authenticity.


"I am Hawaii - I eat Hawaii and they eat me."

And in the end, everything is about giving and receiving. And I really love this attitude and have been following for years, too.


10 Ansichten0 Kommentare

Aktuelle Beiträge

Alle ansehen
bottom of page